bottegafranco


Photo session 1- wrestling a stick insect!
April 26, 2011, 12:08 am
Filed under: Creative Project

 

It never seems to workout how you want does it? I discovered with starting this series that I spent a huge amount of time trying to edit more than anything my choice of objects. Making sure that both purchased and gifted objects were in the shoot. Then setting up was a bit tricky as the board I got was the wrong size (back to the art shop) then the light source kept heating up (scolding fingers are now my chance to suffer for my art!) and finally the tripod and room size made manoeuvering somewhat challenging and this is before a single frame was taken.

But as they say ‘soldier on’ and so finally I managed to get started. I knew the creative process has moments of clarity and speed of ideas and success in getting the image, however I found it creatively fruitful but practically slow, snails pace actually. But undeterred I thought better to move slow and ruminate about the objects some more and question their choice. Are they the right objects? Do they make for interesting subjects and create a visual dialogue? Should I start far away with an all-encompassing view or crop close to make the objects difficult to make out? Will doing the latter frustrate or excite the viewer? More thinking rearranging of the objects and finally just start Franco and get into a creative flow!

Once it did start to flow creatively I had to slow down and look at my placement and get the visual dialogue happening. Each time tightening the image to some subconscious idea I must have had to put these items together to begin with. Then I thought about the book in the image, how I choose that for certain reasons and thought that would be a good linking visual throughout the consecutive photo sessions. So will see if that holds up.

By the half way point I was really enjoying myself even if the heat of the light source was uncomfortable and the camera and tripod was like wrestling with a stick insect. As the moving of light source and objects continued I was clarifying my ideas and resolving to look forward to the next session.

The light was doing wonderful things to the glass and beads and the image on the book cover was so rich in visual clues and colour rendering so vivid through the lens in certain light.

Now that it’s over I feel elated and creatively fulfilled but mentally drained as creative process decisions can do that to a person. I will show the slideshow in the sequence of how I shot the images so you can follow my creative flow. I think it would be good to continue to to do this with subsequent photo sessions.  All that’s left is to show the end of session 1 and wrestle with the dashboard and media to get them up on my blog, wish me luck.

image 12

image 12

The image I selected. View the images below and see if you agree. Feel free to send a comment.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Great photos Franco!

My favourite was image 10. For me it has a really strong narrative. A white glass bowl standing triumphantly atop of life and all it’s experiences to date. Proud to stand in the light while others linger in the darkness. Or the other bowl creeping in the darkness could be the glass bowls shadow self. I think I have been spending too much time with chris in intro to visual praxis. I’m starting to read into things a little too much!

I did like how the light highlighted the flowers on the cover of the book in the image you picked. Has a really nice effect. It takes them out of the context of being a cover image and gives them a life of their own. Would be interesting to hear what you were thinking when you arranged the objects. Were they conscious decisions or did you allow your subconscious to dictate their placement?

(How was that for a turd sandwich Mark? Do you think Franco noticed?)

Comment by Jason

Thanks for the feedback Jason, good to see others thinking about the image choice and personal preferances. At least you liked one which is a start. Regarding the conscious and subconscious choices, both play a role, as I will explain in future sessions, can’t give it all away in session one. But I consciously choose and then subconsciously place to then consciously change and reshoot or vice versa. Confusing? I know and so am I half the time. Cheers again Franco

Comment by bottegafranco




Leave a comment